top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Healthy Zucchini Cookies

Every post on this food blog has been positive - all of the recipes were successes. That definitely does not represent the entirety of my cooking journey - I have had quite a few less successful recipes. These Zucchini Cookies are a perfect example of that; in an attempt to create a completely healthy cookie, I found this recipe and altered it, and in doing so, I pretty much botched it. Instead of regular flour, I used coconut flour, instead of sugar, I used maple syrup and instead of regular butter, I used almond butter, I kept the dried cranberries, but left out the chocolate chips. The result of all these changes, was... interesting. I would not call what you see below, cookies, but they were still edible. I think the taste grew on me, but at first, I thought, wow these are not what I expected. I had a sort of naive optimism about my many substitutions. Surprisingly, my mom and I ended up eating almost all of them, but I would not make the recipe I created again.

While these cookies were not what I expected - they were more balls of ingredients than cookies - I still had a lot of fun making them. It was a fun puzzle to figure out what ingredients to substitute for sugar, flour, and butter. I figured out that I also needed to alter the amounts of the other ingredients so that the consistency would be sticky enough to hold in a ball.

I look forward to making this recipe again, the way the instructions say, because I am sure it is much yummier than what I created, though maybe less creative!

Ingredients

  • 1 ¼ cups all purpose flour (I used ~1/2 cup coconut flour)

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature (I used ~1/4 cup almond butter)

  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar (I used ~1/3 cup maple syrup)

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar (I used ~ 1 tbsp. maple syrup)

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 1 large egg

  • 1 cup shredded zucchini

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I didn't include)

  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Set aside.

  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine butter and sugars, mix until smooth. Add egg and vanilla extract. Next, add the shredded zucchini. Mix until combined.

  4. Slowly add flour mixture until just combined. Stir in oats, chocolate chips, and dried cranberries.

  5. Drop cookie dough by heaping tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets that have been lined with parchment paper. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden. Remove cookies from pans; cool completely on wire racks.

 
0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page