top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Mixed Berry Crisp

Crisp is arguably my brother's favorite dessert, so I thought I would be an amazing sister, not that I wasn't already, and make it for our family. He gobbled it up before I could get a good picture of the whole thing, so here is what a portion of this crisp looks like. Personally, I think, and my brother would agree, that crisp goes best with vanilla ice cream, but hard sauce or whipped cream could do the trick - or just plain crisp!

ingredients ~

2 (12-oz.) pkgs. frozen mixed berries, unthawed

1/4 cup sugar

1 cup all purpose flour

1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice

3/4 cup old-fashioned oats

2/3 cup (packed) golden brown sugar

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. salt

7 Tbsp. chilled unsalted butter, diced

 

recipe ~

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

2. In a large bowl, combine berries, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup flour and lemon juice; toss to blend well. Transfer berry mixture to a 9-inch-diameter glass pie dish.

3. In a medium bowl, combine remaining 3/4 cup flour, oats, brown sugar, spices and salt. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until topping holds together in small moist clumps and sprinkle over berry mixture.

5. Bake for 30 minutes, or until browned and crispy on top.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page