top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Oreo Truffles

As I am writing this post, I am slowly savoring one of these delicious truffles. I have thought about how best to convey the flavor and the way they melt in your mouth, but they are so good that no words can do them justice, so you will just have to make them and find out for yourself! I have learned over the past month that crushed Oreos are dangerously good. The crust for the Chocolate Cream Pie I made for Thanksgiving was made out of Oreos and butter and at the time, I thought it couldn't be topped, but I was quite mistaken. The crushed Oreos and cream cheese filling in these truffles is almost too good to be true . My older brother loved them so much that he offered them to everyone who came in our house, which nowadays is not very many people because of COVID, but the babysitter and my brother's girlfriend enjoyed this sweet treat.

This recipe was so much fun for me because I got to spend some time decorating the outside with white and dark chocolate. I will admit, some of them came out better than others, but on the whole, I think they came out well! I didn't quite get the smooth texture of the outside down as well as I wanted to, so I guess I will just have to make them again! I don't think that will stir up any complaints!



 

Yields: 36 Truffles Prep: 25 mins Total Time: 30 mins

 

Ingredients ~

36 Oreos (original not double-stuff), plus 3 more, crushed, for topping if desired

1 (8 oz) pkg. cream cheese, softened

16 oz vanilla or chocolate candy melts, or melted white chocolate, milk chocolate or dark chocolate

Instructions ~

  1. Line an 18 by 13-inch baking sheet with wax paper or parchment paper.

  2. Place 36 Oreos in a food processor (entire cookie, don't remove cream filling) and pulse too fine crumbs.*

  3. Add cream cheese and pulse in bursts until combined.

  4. Scoop mixture out about 1 Tbsp at a time and form into 1 inch balls then align on prepared cookie sheet.

  5. Place truffles in freezer for 15 minutes. Meanwhile crush remaining 3 Oreos.

  6. Melt almond bark or chocolate according to directions on package.

  7. Remove truffles from freezer and dip in melted chocolate and use a spoon to pour some chocolate over the top then lift and allow excess chocolate to run off.

  8. Return to baking sheet, immediately sprinkle tops with crushed Oreos if desired (or drizzle with chocolate), then allow chocolate to set.

  9. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator.

 

Recipe From: Cooking Classy

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page