top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Peppermint Bark Popcorn

Merry Christmas to all who celebrate! I couldn't help myself, I just had to post this delicious a holiday treat! This popcorn is the perfect festive snack for family and friends. I dropped off a little baggie of this heaven for a bunch of my friends yesterday and they all loved it! I ended up doubling the recipe because it was just so good and I wanted to give it to as many people as I could. I had to stop my family from eating it all so that I had enough to give my friends. My goal for next time is to drizzle even more chocolate and peppermint over the otherwise plain popcorn. It is a bit of a buzz kill to get a piece with nothing on it when you are expecting a chocolatey, pepperminty bite.

I was able to skip right to step 4 because we have a popcorn popper at our house, so I just poured the kernels right into it and voila, popcorn! The fact that the popcorn only took a minute to make was the main reason this recipe was so easy, but even without a popper, this snack is super easy to throw together, and looks super cute in a little goodie bag. Enjoy!


Ingredients ~ 2 tablespoons coconut oil or vegetable oil

½ cup popcorn kernels

sea salt

1 cup dark chocolate chips

4 standard-sized peppermint candy canes (you’ll need about ⅓ cup finely crushed peppermint)

Maldon salt or flaky finishing salt (optional)

Ingredients ~

  1. Cover a large jelly roll pan with parchment paper. Pour the oil into a large, heavy-bottomed pan with a lid (if you have a medium-sized Dutch oven, it’s perfect for this). Turn the heat up to medium, add 2 kernels of corn, and cover.

  2. Once the kernels pop, remove the lid and pour in the remaining popcorn kernels. Cover the pot and give the pot a little shimmy to distribute the kernels evenly.

  3. Cook over medium heat, shaking the pot occasionally. Crack the lid just a smidge so the popcorn stays crisp, and cook until the popping sound slows to about one pop per every few seconds. Remove the pan from heat and dump the popcorn onto the parchment paper-covered pan. Lightly salt it and pick out any kernels that didn’t pop.

  4. Place the candy canes in a plastic bag. Cover the bag with a tea towel and crush the candy canes by rolling a rolling pin over it. A hammer works, too. You want the candy canes to be pretty finely crushed when you’re done.

  5. Melt the chocolate chips over a double boiler or in the microwave in twenty-second bursts, stirring between each, until the chocolate is completely melted and smooth.

  6. Use a spoon to drizzle the chocolate over the popcorn. Working quickly, sprinkle the popcorn with the crushed candy canes. Lightly sprinkle with a pinch of Maldon/finishing salt or sea salt. Transfer the pan to the refrigerator for ten minutes, or until the chocolate is set completely. Break up the popcorn sheet with your hands and serve.

 

Recipe From: Cookie & Kate

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page