top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Rhubarb Pie

Before making this recipe, I had never eaten rhubarb let alone rhubarb pie. My gracious aunt, who has been helping me with food photography came over for a shoot and left us with some rhubarb from her garden! I was so excited to try it out, and I had heard of rhubarb pies before, so I thought I would make it and bring it to the family pizza night for dessert! My favorite part about this recipe was topping the orange flavored filling with the colorful rhubarb. Rhubarb is unique in the world of vegetables because of its beautiful color that ranges from green to red. Looking back on it at the picture, I definitely could have done a better job at decorating, but the flavor definitely made up for the lack of artistic ability.


The moisture on top of the pie is the orange juice that I sprinkled over to add more moisture because when I substituted the almond flour with all-purpose flour, the texture changed.

ingredients ~

1 single crust pie pastry dough (I used a graham cracker pie crust)

6 Tablespoons butter, room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar, divided (1/3,2/3)

3/4 cup blanched almond flour (I used all-purpose flour)

2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1 large egg

1 Tablespoon orange zest

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 pounds fresh rhubarb, halved lengthwise and cut into 2-inch segments

3 Tablespoons orange juice


instructions ~

1. In a medium bowl, combine butter and 2/3 cup sugar on medium-high until well combined, about 3 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl with a spatula and add almond flour; beat to incorporate, about 2 minutes. Add flour and cornstarch, and mix to combine. Scape down sides of bowl again; add egg, orange zest, and vanilla, and beat on high for 1 minute.

2. In a large bowl, toss cut rhubarb with orange juice and remaining sugar. Set aside.

3. Evenly spread almond-orange filling. Lift the rhubarb segments out of any juice in the bowl, and place them on top of the almond cream in a single layer.

4. Bake until almond filling has puffed, turned golden, and no longer jiggles in the center when lightly shaken, about 1 hour. Allow to cool completely before slicing.

 

Recipe Adapted From: Southern Living

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page