top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Spiced Pecan Apple Salad

Three out of the past four recipes I have posted have been full on desserts, and while I do not apologize for the lack of "healthy food" because the desserts were delicious, it is about time I posted a main meal recipe. One can try, but will have a hard time living on just Chocolate on Chocolate on Chocolate Ice Cream Cake, Key Lime Pie, and Vanilla Birthday Cake. The key to a healthy happy life is balance, and as my mom likes to say, everything in moderation! And let me tell you, that is not hard when recipes like this Spiced Pecan Apple Salad exist. Every single bite is like Christmas morning in a mouthful, and you might even forget you are eating salad! But, seriously, this salad is a great way to spice up a typical dinner.

I am personally a huge fan of fruit in salad. Those who are opposed, I understand, but don't overlook this recipe so quickly! My mother is one of the many people who prefer not to mix fruit and salad, but she still loves the apple addition and is actually the one who recommend I make this. She is so clever, recommending food that she likes.

The hardest step in the making of this salad is definitely making sure not to burn the pecans. Every time I roast them in the toaster or the oven, I promise myself I will not forget and I will check on them often. Most of the time, I break that promise and have to start again. Going back to my mother - she is the best because she will eat the semi-burnt ones - but if you don't have someone to eat your mistakes, then be extra careful! It is also helpful to understand your oven. As part of my independent study this semester, I calibrated my oven using the melting point of sugar. Knowing that sugar melts at 366 F, I set my oven to 350 F to test whether my oven would melt the sugar. When the sugar was still in solid form after several minutes at 350 F, I bumped the temperature up to 365 F. Soon after that, the sugar melted and was browning quickly. This told me what I had already assumed, that the oven in our kitchen cooks at a higher temperature than what we set it at, especially towards the back.

I love creative salads and learning about new ingredient combinations, but the dressing is even better in some ways. As I learn more and more about all of the plastic that is going into the oceans and piling up in landfills, I am more and more inclined to stop buying dressing from the plastic bottles in the store, and just make it myself. As long as you have some type of vinegar, sherry wine vinegar in this case, olive oil, and mustard, you are good to go! From there, there are a bunch of other things such as garlic that you can add to enhance the dressing, but those core ingredients are all you really need.


 

Yields: 8 Servings Active Time: 10 mins Total Time: 25 mins

 

Ingredients ~

3 Tbsp. butter

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. cayenne

1 2/3 cups pecan pieces

1 large Red Delicious apple

2 tsp (about) lemon juice

1 head Boston lettuce, chilled, torn into bite-size pieces

1 head red leaf lettuce, chilled, torn into bite-size pieces

8 ounces feta cheese, crumbled

2 Tbsp. sherry wine vinegar

1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard

1/2 cup extra-light olive oil



Instructions ~

  1. Place butter on baking sheet with sides. Heat in 350-degree oven until melted.

  2. Stir in salt, cinnamon and cayenne. Sprinkle evenly with pecans, stirring with rubber spatula to coat pecans. Bake for 15 minutes or until pecans are aromatic and golden brown. Cool on baking sheet on wire rack.

  3. Cut apple into 1/4-inch pieces and sprinkle with lemon juice.

  4. Combine lettuce, apple and cheese in a large bowl.

  5. Whisk vinegar and Dijon mustard in small bowl. Whisk in olive oil gradually until thickened.

  6. Drizzle over salad. Top with spiced pecans.

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page