top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Baked Banana Donuts

Sticking with the donut shape theme (go check out Martin's Bagels if you haven't yet!)... Baked Banana Donuts! A big shoutout to my wonderful friend who got me the mini donut pan that inspired these cute little treats. She made me donuts late last year and I got so excited about them that I think she got the hint that maybe I wanted one. I love her for encouraging my passions in cooking and baking. Plus, who wouldn't want a mini donut pan?! They are just so cute!!!

I really enjoyed making these bite size bits of heaven because the recipe I found felt like a healthy alternative to your typical donut full of sugar. These have banana as a main ingredient, so it is almost like banana bread in an O shape, but so much better. They are melt-in-your-mouth with or without the cinnamon sugar coating, but they definitely feel more like donuts and less like banana bread when they have the coating on. I feel so much better about munching on sweet treats when they have come from my own kitchen and I know that the only sugar is the 1/2 cup I added!

When new year has rolled around in the past, I have made vague resolutions to eat healthier, but this year my mindset has shifted. Now that I am making a lot more food from scratch, I can use whole foods and whole ingredients to create snacks and meals that might have been unhealthy if I bought it from a store, but I know is healthy because I am the one controlling what goes in.

In addition to my own enjoyment of this treat, these made for a fun holiday gift to one of my friends! You can make mini or normal sized donuts, and if you make mini ones, there are a lot to go around which is always wonderful. I think my first go at donuts was a success and I will no doubt be back with another recipe - so keep your eyes peeled!


 

Yields: 30 mini donuts Active Time: 15 mins Total Time: 25 mins

 

Ingredients ~


1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg, at room temperature

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 cup mashed banana, from approximately 2 large or 3 medium overripe bananas

1/2 cup Greek yogurt OR sour cream, at room temperature


For the Cinnamon Sugar Coating:

½ cup sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

6 tablespoons butter, melted

For the Chocolate Glaze:

3 tablespoons butter, salted or unsalted

1 1/2 tablespoons light corn syrup

3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract


Instructions ~

  1. Adjust oven racks to center position and preheat oven to 425°F. Spray two 6-cavity donut pans with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, use an electric mixer to beat the butter until smooth, and then beat in the sugar until light and fluffy. Blend in the egg, vanilla, mashed bananas, and sour cream until fully incorporated (batter may look curdled at this point...it will smooth out with addition of flour). Gently mix in the dry ingredients until just blended. Evenly divide the batter between the prepared donut pans.

  3. Bake for 7 to 9 minutes until the tops of the donuts spring back when lightly touched. Allow donuts to cool for 5 minutes in pans before turning them out onto a cooling rack.

  4. FOR THE CINNAMON SUGAR COATING: In a medium bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon. Place the melted butter in a shallow bowl. Dip one side of each donut in the butter, and then press into the cinnamon sugar. Serve warm or at room temperature.

  5. FOR THE CHOCOLATE GLAZE: Place a small saucepan over medium-low heat and melt together the butter and corn syrup. Remove the pot from the heat and add the chocolate chips, stirring until they are smooth and completely melted. Stir in the vanilla. If necessary, transfer to a bowl for dipping (or you can dip the donuts directly into the pot). While the glaze is still warm and thin, dip one face of each donut into the glaze. Place glaze-side-up on a plate or cooling rack. For optimal flavor and texture, serve sooner than later.

 

Recipe From: Five Hearts Home

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page