top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Peanut Butter Banana Overnight Oats

Good morning! Hopefully you slept well and are ready to make the most out of this lovely Friday. One of the ways that I sometimes choose to make the most out of my day is by starting the night before. With a little bit of time management and thinking ahead, I can improve my morning by leaps and bounds by simply preparing these overnight oats. I was just recently exposed to the idea of overnight oats and I have fallen in love. I already knew that I loved bananas and peanut butter, and bananas with peanut butter, but it wasn't until I experimented with this mason jar concoction that I met my love of peanut butter banana oats.

One of the great things about overnight oats is that you can pick what ever you want to go into the mason jar. Love maple syrup? Have it with some brown sugar and cinnamon. Love blueberries? Add some honey, greek yogurt and vanilla! There are endless possibilities for these morning pick-me-ups and they can be protein packed or sweet, whatever you are feeling!

I am someone who tends to be on the go, so this pre-made breakfast option is perfect. I know that it is healthy because I am the one who prepared it, but I don't have to stress about it in the morning as I am trying to get out the door. I find that when I make these overnight oats, specifically the ones with banana and peanut butter, I feel satisfied until my next meal at lunch which is so important during the school day. I definitely don't love the feeling of my stomach grumbling when I can't do anything about it. I used to not eat breakfast because I felt like I didn't have time. If you are that person now, try making these overnight oats to easily fit breakfast into your schedule because it really is SO important.

 

Yields: one mason jar Active Time: 5 mins Total Time: 6 hrs

 

Ingredients ~

1/2 cup milk

2 Tbsp peanut butter

1 banana, sliced

1/2 cup rolled oats


other options:

chia seeds

maple syrup

honey

fresh fruit

vanilla


Instructions ~

  1. Add milk and peanut butter (and any other optional ingredients) to a mason jar and stir.

  2. Add the oats and stir until peanut butter is swirled around. Make sure that the oats are fully submerged in the milk.

  3. Cover/seal the jar and let sit in the fridge overnight.

  4. Open up the next morning, add sliced bananas, and enjoy!


 

Recipe Inspired By: Minimalist Baker

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page