top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Cinnamon Rolls

Who wouldn't want to wake up to cinnamon rolls in the morning? On Christmas Eve morning? I surprised my family with this delicious morning treat the day before Christmas and everyone loved them, with or without the glaze. I might even make them tomorrow morning too so our family starts off 2021 eating well!

This recipe for cinnamon rolls is my last post of 2020. What a year. A year that started off just like any other, but turned into a pandemic year that knocked us all off our feet. I am someone who loves to look for silver linings, and I would say that this blog is definitely one of them. I would have never been able to discover my love for cooking and baking if we hadn't all been stuck at home. I know that this year has been really hard for a lot of people, and while I recognize that, I am thankful that I was able to find joy and happiness as well. I hope that I have been able to bring some of that into your house and I will do my best to bring that joy into 2021!

I have been following Amy, the woman who created this recipe, on Instagram because she makes beautiful cakes, and I thought I would try out her cinnamon roll recipe because it was enjoyed by many according to her story. I see why now!

This recipe was fun to make because she doesn't write out the instructions, rather she explains them in a video and does the recipe with you. It is a 25 minute long video that covers everything from kneading the dough to the consistency of the glaze. It was so helpful to hear her little tips and tricks as I made the rolls, and though I then had to listen through it again to record the instructions for you all, it was fun to only be going by what she said in the video! I highly recommend watching her video, but if you don't, I did my best to write out the instructions according to what she said.

One thing that I could have done to make these rolls even fluffier would have been to knead the dough for longer. I tried the window pane test as Amy calls it, to make sure the dough is ready to rise, and I think I could have kneaded the dough even more to be able to see more light through the dough when held up to to the window. The one thing that I might change about this recipe, though it was incredibly good, would be the cream cheese glaze. Next time, I might substitute the cream cheese with more butter and milk, but trying something new was exciting too!



 

Yields: 8 rolls Active Time: 25 mins Total Time: 1h 25 mins

 

Ingredients ~

Dough:

1/2 cup milk (4 oz. or 120 mL)

1/2 cup heavy cream (4 oz. or 120 mL - may substitute milk)

1 Tablespoon yeast (10 grams)

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt (5 g)

4 Tablespoons salted butter (56 grams)

1 egg 3-4 cups AP flour (360-480 g)

Filling:

1/2 cup salted butter (113 g)

1 cup brown sugar (213 g)

2-3 tablespoons cinnamon to taste (30-45 g)

Glaze:

4 oz. cream cheese

4 tablespoons salted butter (56 g)

1 1/2 - 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar (170-285 g)

1 teaspoon vanilla (5 g)

2-3 tablespoons milk (30-45 g/mL)


Instructions ~

  1. Measure out milk and cream in a liquid measuring cup, and warm in the microwave for 30 seconds. Pour sugar, salt and softened butter into the bowl of a stand mixer and add in warmed milk. Add in yeast and egg.

  2. With the whisk attachment, mix on low speed for a minute. Then with the whisk attachment still on, add 1/2 cup of flour.

  3. Switch to the dough hook attachment and start adding the rest of the flour, 1/2 cup at a time until you reach 3-4 cups, or the dough pulls away from the bowl and is not sticky when touched.

  4. Kneed the dough until it can be stretched to see light through it without it breaking*.

  5. Place dough in a lightly greased bowl and cover. Let rise for 30 minutes or until doubled in size.

  6. FOR CINNAMON MIXTURE: Combine brown sugar and butter and stir to make a paste. Then add cinnamon to taste.

  7. Turn dough out onto a floured surface and roll into a rectangle. Spread cinnamon filling onto rectangle, use as much or as little as you want.

  8. Roll dough with cinnamon filling from the long end to create a log. Use floss to wrap around the log in inch high rolls*. Place in greased pan and let rise for 20-40 minutes.

  9. Bake in oven at 325 F for 20-24 minutes. Watch the rolls as they bake, and take out when there is just a hint of color.

  10. FOR THE GLAZE: Combine butter, cream cheese and powdered sugar in a bowl and mix. Add vanilla and a tablespoon of milk, and continue to mix. Continue to add milk and sugar until you get the consistency you want.

  11. Spread glaze on rolls and enjoy!

Video (link below):

*8:25 - window pain test for the dough

*17:00 - using floss to cut the rolls


 

Recipe From: Neurotic Mom Bakes

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page