top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Crock Pot Teriyaki Chicken

Looking for an easy crock pot dinner? You found it! Whether you have four hours or two, this recipe will work for you. I chose to cook the chicken in the crock pot for two hours on high, but if you get going earlier in the day, you can cook it on low for four hours. I loved how easy it was to simply put the chicken in the crock pot, whisk together the sauce, drizzle it over the chicken, and let it sit. After a couple hours, the chicken was tender and I had already started the rice noodles, so all I had to do was make the teriyaki sauce to coat the chicken.

Next time I make this recipe, I think I will work on the last step, the sauce, because I didn't get the thickness I was expecting. The flavor still came through, but the sauce was was a tad watery. It is very possible that I did not add enough cornstarch, or that I did not let it cook on the stove for long enough. I will experiment with these two aspects next time because I think the thick coat of teriyaki sauce is a key part of teriyaki chicken.

The main change that I made to this recipe was that I sat the chicken on top of rice noodles rather than the suggested rice. I think it would be delicious either way, but having rice noodles was a fun change of pace! I highly recommend pouring extra sauce around the noodles for more of the teriyaki flavor.

If you love your crock pot - try out this Crock Pot Mac and Cheese (a family favorite)!


 

Yields: 4 Servings Active Time: 10 mins Total Time: 4 hrs 10 mins

 

Ingredients ~

1 ½ pounds boneless skinless chicken thighs

2/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce

3 tablespoons rice vinegar

3 tablespoons honey

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger

2 tablespoons water

1 tablespoon cornstarch

Toasted sesame seeds, for serving

Chopped green onions, for serving

Prepared brown rice, quinoa, or other whole grain, for serving (I used rice noodles)


Instructions ~

  1. Place the chicken thighs in the bottom of a 6-quart or larger slow cooker.

  2. In a medium bowl or large measuring cup, whisk together the soy sauce, rice vinegar, honey, brown sugar, garlic, and ginger. Pour over the chicken thighs.

  3. Cover and cook on high for 2 hours or low for 4 hours, until the chicken is tender and cooked through. Remove the chicken to a plate and shred with two forks. Strain the cooking liquid through a mesh sieve and into a medium saucepan.

  4. In a small bowl, whisk together the cornstarch and water until smooth. Add to the strained cooking liquid, whisk to incorporate, then heat the saucepan over medium high, stirring constantly until the sauce bubbles. Continue cooking and stirring until glossy and thickened, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from heat.

  5. Add the chicken to the sauce. Toss to coat. Serve warm with rice or quinoa, garnished with sesame seeds and green onions as desired.

 

Recipe From: Well Plated

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page