top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Italian Spaghetti Squash

Who doesn't love a dish that comes with its own bowl? You can eat this spaghetti squash right out of the squash or spoon it into a bowl! I had to redeem myself after I dropped my last spaghetti squash dish on the floor. I made Spaghetti Squash Cheesy Bread and it all slipped off the parchment paper and fell to the ground! This recipes was not quite as good as the cheesy bread, but it was still a great healthy meal. As I mentioned in my other post linked above, the key for me, in terms of eating spaghetti squash, is adjusting my expectations. The problem is that I am expecting pasta and am ending up with a vegetable, and I am not a picky eater - but I do love my pasta, especially with sausage, tomato sauce and cheese. Fortunately, this bowl of yumminess is a little bit healthier in terms of veggie intake, and it is a crowd pleaser! I halved the ingredients because I only had one spaghetti squash and it came out perfectly.

 

Yields: 4 Prep Time: 20 mins Total Time: 1h 25 mins

 

Ingredients ~ 2 large spaghetti squash, halved 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil kosher salt Freshly ground black pepper 1/2 lb. Italian sausage, casings removed 1/2 c. tomato sauce 1 c. shredded mozzarella

Instructions ~

  1. Preheat oven to 400°. On a large baking sheet, rub insides of spaghetti squash with olive oil and season generously with salt and pepper.

  2. Bake until tender, 55 minutes to 1 hour. Remove from oven and heat broiler.

  3. Once cool enough to handle, shred spaghetti squash with a fork.

  4. Meanwhile, in a large skillet over medium-high heat, cook sausage until browned.

  5. Divide tomato sauce and sausage among halves and top with cheese.

  6. Broil until cheese is browned and squash warmed through, 4 to 5 minutes. Serve hot.

 

Recipe From: Delish

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page