top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Kale Salad with All-Day, Everyday Dressing

One of my favorite feelings ever is going out to the garden and picking fresh ingredients to use in a recipe. Many people started gardens during quarantine because it was something to do, so I am sure this feeling is relatable on some level to a lot of the population. We have had a garden for the last several years, and we definitely amped up our game this year because we had more time.

I used both red kale and curly kale for this recipe, both of which were picked less than an hour before eating - so fantastic. The kale was not the only fresh ingredient though, a few herbs contributed to the deliciousness! I would not say that I am an herb person, but I will say that I had so much fun picking THREE different herbs right from our garden and using them in this salad. I picked thyme, parsley and basil and I loved the flavor that each one provided in the salad. Unfortunately, our tomatoes are not in full bloom yet, so we were not able to use them here, but we will be able to soon! I am just starting to see hints of red within the flourishing leaves of the tomato bushes.

This kale salad was the perfect side on a hot summer night; I recommend cooling the dressing in the fridge before drizzling on the salad. I highly encourage everyone to try this simple recipe out, especially if the ingredients are fresh!

Ingredients ~

2 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

8 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

2 tablespoons grated pecorino Romano cheese

1 tablespoon minced almonds

1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme

2 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon wildflower honey

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

6 cups baby kale (5 oz.)

1/4 cup flat-leaf parsley leaves

1/4 cup torn basil leaves

1 cup baby heirloom tomatoes, halved


Instructions ~

1. Combine oil and garlic in a skillet over medium-low heat; cook 3 minutes or until garlic is golden, stirring occasionally. Remove garlic with a slotted spoon; reserve garlic. Transfer oil to the bowl of a mini food processor. Add cheese, almonds, thyme, juice, honey, and salt; process until well combined. 2. Combine kale, parsley, and basil. Toss with dressing. Arrange about 1 1/4 cups salad on each of 4 plates. Divide tomatoes and garlic evenly among salads.

 

Recipe From: MyRecipes

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

تعليقات


bottom of page