top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Spinach Frittata

I am lucky enough to have a family that enjoys my cooking, or maybe they are lucky enough to have a daughter that loves to cook. Either way, my mom knows me well, so when she slid this recipe under my door this morning, she knew I would be making it, and she knew she would have a yummy, healthy breakfast waiting for her when she finished her call! This frittata was so simple, and was done before I knew it. I substituted tomatoes for peppers and just added them in a little bit later to avoid over cooking them. I love that this recipe has optional suggestions, because being creative is half the fun!

Ingredients ~

6 eggs, whisked with salt and pepper

1 small onion, diced

1 small red pepper, diced

1 cup chopped spinach (fresh or frozen)

2 teaspoons olive oil or canola oil


Optional:

Turkey sausage, diced and sautéed until brown

1 cup cooked or canned black beans or chickpeas

1/2 cup grated parmesan or cheddar cheese

basil, chopped

 

Instructions ~

  1. Sauté onions, peppers and spinach in 2 tablespoons of olive oil until browned.

  2. Add egg mixture, stir, cover and cook at low heat until set, about 7 minutes.

  3. Cool, then slice and serve.

  4. You can microwave leftovers for a quick, healthy breakfast.

 

Recipe From: Dartmouth-Hitchcock's Culinary Medicine program

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page