top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Bunny Sugar Cookies

Happy Easter to all who celebrate! My family celebrates Easter - with Easter egg hunts and all! I get to experience Easter through my little siblings, as if I were in elementary school again, and I wouldn't want it any other way! Who doesn't love the Easter Bunny, right? Our family is staying low-key and safe this year because of COVID, and unfortunately, it is the second COVID Easter, but hope is on the horizon, and I am crossing my fingers that this will be the last COVID Easter.

I am part of Class Committee at my high school, and yesterday we did a bake sale to raise money for our class. We are so fortunate to live in a town where the residents are willing to support us, and to have a general store that is more than willing to let us set up at! With Easter being the next day, I decided to make themed sugar cookies for the sale. I got to open one of my Easter basket goodies a couple days early so that I could use the bunny cookie cutter. My brilliant mom came up with the idea to use mini marshmallows as tails and chocolate as eyes. Plain and simple, and super cute! And they sold out at the sale!

The recipe that I chose for these bunny cookies is technically a holiday cookie themed recipe, but all it does is outline the actual cookie making - it leaves all of the creativity to the person in the kitchen. There are other recipes that call for refrigerating the cookie dough for a number of hours, but I was tight on time, so I chose this one, and they came out great! I ended up slightly over mixing the dough, but with the advice from Natasha's Kitchen and her write up before the recipe, I added a bit of water and the dough came right together and was perfect for rolling and shaping. Also, I cut the recipe in half because I only had a 1/2 cup of butter and that was not a problem! And a tip: make sure to take the cookies out before they start to brown too much, light brown on the sides is good. Even if they don't seem ready, they probably are and will harden as they cool.


 

Yields: 40 cookies Active Time: 20 mins Total Time: 30 mins

 

Ingredients ~


1 cup unsalted butter softened at room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar

1 egg (large)

1/4 tsp salt


Instructions ~

  1. Preheat oven to 350 °F with a rack in the center. Whisk together flour with baking powder and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

  2. Using a stand-up or handheld mixer, beat the butter together with sugar. To the mixture add vanilla extract and egg and beat to combine.

  3. To the butter mixture, add flour in 3 parts until fully incorporated.

  4. Divide the dough into two equal parts. On a lightly floured surface, roll into ¼-inch thickness. Use a cookie cutter to cut out your favorite shapes.

  5. Bake cookies on a parchment or silicone-lined baking sheet at 350˚F for 10 minutes, or until the edges are just beginning to turn golden.

  6. Let the cookies cool for about 5 minutes on the baking sheet before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Recipe From: Natasha's Kitchen

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page