top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Chocolate on Chocolate on Chocolate Ice Cream Cake

Do you like chocolate? If you do, wonderful, but if not, you might want to keep scrolling... this cake is all chocolate, all day, every day. Chocolate ice cream, chocolate Oreo topping, chocolate frosting, chocolate Oreos and chocolate drizzle. Wow. That’s a lot of chocolate, so you better love it! I sure do, and my little sister definitely does! This was her big request for her confirmation and first communion weekend. She was very cute about it, while at the same time very clear about exactly what she wanted. I did my best to meet her expectations, and I think I did a pretty good job judging by the chocolate that ended up all over her face.

I have made an Ice Cream Cake once before, so I had a pretty good idea about how to do it. The biggest hurdle with ice cream is getting it to a temperature where you can shape it but it doesn’t melt completely. I took the ice cream out of the freezer 10-20 minutes before I wanted to work so it would be relatively soft and I molded it into a springform pan. I have used springform pans for both the ice cream cakes now because the sides come off allowing an easy transfer to another platter. Once I got the shape of the cake, I crushed up gluten free Oreos and topped the cake with them. It was helpful that the cake was soft because the Oreo bits stuck easily. On the day of the celebration, I made the chocolate buttercream frosting, swirled it onto the cake and stuck Oreos into the “flowers”. Yes, the swirls are my best attempt at the flowers that my little sister desperately wanted on her cake.

This recipe was a huge hit and really didn't require much work, given that the ice cream was store bought. My next step is to make homemade ice cream! The best part about making this ice cream cake, other than the big hug that my sister gave me, was figuring out the presentation. I settled on the "flowers" with Oreos on top, but there are so many other creative ways to do it!


 

Yield: 12-16 servings Active Time: 45 mins Total Time: 2-3 hours

 

Ingredients ~


2 (1.5 qt) chocolate ice cream

1/2 package Oreos (gluten free)


Chocolate Buttercream Icing* 1 cup of softened butter

3-1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder

3 tablespoons cream

1/4 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons vanilla extract


Instructions ~

  1. Crush 12 Oreos in food processor or by hand until crumbly. Set aside.

  2. Remove ice cream from containers and spoon into a springform pan. Use a knife or spreader to level with the top of the pan. If too soft to transfer, return to freezer. Once it is set, remove from freezer, let soften slightly, and cover on the top and side with Oreo crumbs. Return to freezer.

  3. Chocolate Buttercream Icing: Place butter and powdered sugar and cocoa powder in a stand mixer and mix for 3-4 minutes. Start on low speed for the first minute and increase to medium speed for the rest of the time. Add cream, salt and vanilla and mix well.

  4. Swirl buttercream onto cake and top with Oreos and chocolate drizzle if deserted. Enjoy!

*Recipe for chocolate buttercream icing produces 12-16 servings, and for this ice cream cake, only 1/4 of that is necessary.

 

Chocolate Buttercream Icing Recipe From: Haagen Dazs

Chocolate Cake Recipe by me!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page