top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Energy Bites

Whether I have a busy schedule, or I am just being lazy, these energy bites are perfect quick nourishment. Need a snack on the way to practice? Grab an energy ball from the fridge! Hungry but don't have the energy to make food? Grab an energy ball! I love the concept of making food in advance, and having it to grab in a rush. Plus, these energy balls are so tasty that they are something I wan't to eat all the time! As someone who loves to pack my day with sports and different activities, it takes some of the stress out of moving from place to place when I know that there is something ready for me to eat. These energy balls are packed with protein from the peanut butter and a little sweet from the honey and chocolate chip and are the perfect choice to anyone who loves the two together!

I modified the recipe a little bit, because I didn't have steel cut oats or shredded sweetened coconut, and I found that they were a little bit tough to hold together. So, I added more peanut butter and it worked perfectly. I think that coconut would taste so yummy in these, so next time I make them, I will definitely make sure I have it ready.

Ingredients ~

1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1 cup steel cut oats

1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut

1 cup crispy rice cereal (like Rice Krispies or crushed rice chex)

1 cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)

1 cup ground flaxseed

2/3 cup chocolate chips

3/4 cup honey

2 teaspoons vanilla extract


Instructions ~

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. 

2. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before forming into 1-2 inch balls. (If the mixture isn't holding together well enough you can add a little more nut butter or honey to help it bind). Keep refrigerated for an easy snack on the go.

3. Feel free to include other "add-ins" like chopped almonds, raisins, etc.

 
0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page