top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Pan Fried Brussels Sprouts with Turkey Bacon and Parmesan

This is my third time making Brussels Sprouts for this blog and I swear it gets better every time! I have tried new recipes each time I make it, but I always use Brussels sprouts, bacon and parmesan cheese. This time, the extra ingredient was pine nuts and they added both flavor and a little crunch.

My two other recipes on this blog that are similar to this one are Parmesan Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon, and Creamy Garlic Parmesan Brussels Sprouts with Bacon.

One major difference with this recipe was that it was all done on the stovetop. While I love cooking on the stove because it feels more interactive, I found that I became impatient cooking the Brussels Sprouts in a pan. Rather than having a set time in the oven and checking on it every ten minutes, I was watching them on the stove the whole time. I think that made it feel like the process was much longer, so I was tempted to take them off of the stove before they were ready. I definitely think that browned Brussels Sprouts are much tastier than more al dente ones; it is important to cook the sprouts enough that they lose their raw taste.


Ingredients ~


2 tablespoons​ Olive Oil divided

6 slices turkey bacon chopped

1 shallot finely minced (about 3-4 tablespoons)

2 garlic cloves finely minced

1 lb Brussels sprouts halved or quartered if large

salt and pepper to taste (about 1/2 teaspoon each to start)

1/4 cup pine nuts

1 tablespoon lemon juice from 1/2 lemon

2 tablespoons parsley leaves finely minced

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese about 1-2 ounces


Instructions ~

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon corn oil in a large skillet. Add the diced turkey bacon, shallots, and garlic. Sauté for 2-3 minutes over medium-high heat, or until the bacon starts getting crispy.

  2. Add the remaining tablespoon of corn oil, Brussels sprouts, salt, and pepper. Stir well, then allow to cook over medium-high heat undisturbed for about 2 minutes, or until the Brussels sprouts that are touching the skillet turn golden brown. Lower the heat if necessary to prevent burning. Stir again, cover with a lid, and allow to cook for 2-3 minutes, or until the Brussels sprouts are cooked to your liking.

  3. Add the pine nuts, lemon juice, and fresh parsley. Stir. Add the Parmesan cheese and remove from heat. Serve warm, garnishing with additional fresh parsley and Parmesan cheese.

 

Recipe From: Babaganosh

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page