top of page
Writer's pictureCaroline Adams

Sourdough Biscuits

I wasn't quite sure what I could do with my sourdough discard, so I did a quick internet search and this recipe popped up. It is crazy how there are so many resources right at our fingertips. It makes it so easy! I chose this recipe because it is from the same site as I got the Sourdough Starter instructions and the Sourdough Bread recipe: Feasting at Home. I figured Sylvia, who is behind the blog and recipes, used her own starter for this recipe, so my using the one I created from her instructions would yield the best results. I don't have a comparison point, but let's just say they earned a stamp of approval from my grandmother.

I was in a bit of a rush when making these biscuits because we were headed out the door, so I didn't quite incorporate all of the flour into the starter and sour cream mixture, but it worked. I think it is possible that my starter, because it had been a while since I fed it, was not in prime shape to be used, but nevertheless, the biscuits were deliciously flaky and full at the same time.

There was the option to add in scallions or chives, which I wanted to do but didn't have any on hand. Instead, I went for the plain biscuit and butter approach. I didn't have jam but I would have layered that on as well for a sweet touch. Biscuits are so easy to make and so versatile! From chives to jam, they do it all. I also had a ham and cheese biscuit from the store up the road that I want to try to replicate in my own kitchen so that is my next challenge.

If you don't have sourdough starter, these Never-Fail Biscuits were also a hit at my house!

 

Yields: 6 Biscuits Active Time: 15 mins Total Time: 40 mins

 

Ingredients ~


1 1/2 cup (180g) All-Purpose Flour (or bread flour) , fluffed, spooned and leveled

1 teaspoon salt (use a little less if using salted butter)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) unsalted, cold butter (or use vegan butter), cut into 1/4-inch slices. (113.5 grams)

1/4–1/2 cup chopped scallions or chives (optional, of course)

3/4 cup (170g) discard or sourdough starter, unfed

1/2 cup sour cream (or sub vegan sour cream, buttermilk or yogurt)


Instructions ~

  1. Preheat oven to 425F

  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, salt and baking powder.

  3. Work in the cut cold butter into the flour using your fingers until it is unevenly crumbly, with the biggest crumbs the size of peas. Mix in the scallions if using.

  4. Place 3/4 cup starter and 1/2 cup sour cream in a bowl and mix with a fork ( it doesn’t have to be perfectly mixed together).

  5. Pour this into the flour mixture and using a fork, mix until the dough comes together into a very shaggy ball.

  6. Place the ball on a well-floured surface, sprinkle with flour and knead gently just to incorporate ( for 5 seconds- don’t over knead). Pat into a 6 x 10-inch rectangle. Fold up the sides into thirds like a tri-fold envelope and pat again into a 6 x10 inch rectangle. Fold up the sides into thirds again. Re-flour your work surface, adding more if needed. Pat into an 8 x 5-inch rectangle about 1 1/2 inches tall. Cut into 6 equal pieces.

  7. Place on a parchment-lined sheet pan and bake for 20-25 minutes. Check at 15-20 minutes, rotating pan if necessary. Keep baking until biscuits are beautifully golden and internal temp reaches 205F.

 

Recipe From: Feasting At Home

1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 則留言


Lauren Adams
Lauren Adams
2021年2月23日

The perfect pre-ski snack :)

按讚
bottom of page